Covering Northern New York

For more than three decades, AEDC has provided business training, lending and technical assistance to underserved populations and to existing businesses throughout its 14-county service region.

New York’s North Country is a 14 county region that roughly covers that part of the state “north of the Thruway,” and includes the counties of Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Oneida, Oswego, Saratoga, St. Lawrence, Warren and Washington. The region includes the Adirondack Mountains and its foothills – including the Mohawk River, St. Lawrence River and Lake Champlain/Lake George valleys. The entire Adirondack Park, which constitutes almost half of the region’s footprint, is located at the center of the North Country.

The Adirondack Park’s tourism economy has the potential to provide sustainable markets for entrepreneurs with a special skill or who can develop a specialized product or service particularly appropriate for that entrepreneur or community. But special efforts are needed to identify, support and train these low income entrepreneurs and those who make the grade must have access to financing that will get them started on the path of self-employment and self-reliance.